Phonograms Notification No. 1
Convention for the Protection of Producers of Phonograms Against Unauthorized Duplication of Their Phonograms

Signatory States

The Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) presents his compliments to the Minister for Foreign Affairs and, in conformity with the provisions of Article 13(4) of the above Convention, has the honor to inform him that, according to the notification received from the Secretary-General of the United Nations, the following States had, at the expiration of the required period (that is, on April 30, 1972), signed the said Convention:

- Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Germany (Federal Republic), Holy See, India, Iran, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Mexico, Monaco, Nicaragua, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Yugoslavia, on October 29, 1971;

- Kenya, on April 4, 1972; Finland and Japan, on April 21, 1972; Austria, Liechtenstein, Norway and Panama, on April 28, 1972; Philippines, on April 29, 1972;

(Total: 31 States).

Pursuant to Article 13(5), two certified copies of the Convention have been transmitted by the Secretary-General of the United Nations to the States concerned.

In accordance with the provisions of Article 9, the Convention is subject to ratification or acceptance by the signatory States listed above. It is open for accession by any State member of the United Nations, any of the Specialized Agencies brought into relationship with the United Nations, or the International Atomic Energy Agency, or party to the Statute of the International Court of Justice.

Instruments of ratification, acceptance or accession must be deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

September 20, 1972