Vienna Classification

The Vienna Classification (VCL), established by the Vienna Agreement (1973), is an international classification of the figurative elements of marks. The Vienna Classification is regularly revised. Find out more about the VCL.

VCL meetings

Assembly of the Vienna Union

All states that are party to the Vienna Agreement are members of the Vienna Union Assembly. The Assembly meets in ordinary session once every two years. The Assembly deals with all matters concerning the maintenance and development of the Union and the implementation of the Vienna Agreement.

Committee of Experts of the Vienna Union

Each State party to the Vienna Agreement is represented in the Committee of Experts set up by the Agreement. The Committee holds its sessions at least once every five years. The Committee decides on any changes to be incorporated in the Vienna Classification, which are subsequently published in the form of new editions of the Classification. The Committee of Experts also addresses recommendations to the members of the Union for the purpose of facilitating the use of the Classification and promoting its uniform application.

Download and IT support

Quick access

  • VCL 6: files and data
  • VCL 7: files and data
  • VCL 8: files and data
  • VCL 9: files and data (entry into force on 1 January 2023)

Related links

About IP

Trademark-related databases

Other international classifications