Madrid (Marks) Notification No. 43
Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks
Madrid Protocol (1989)

Signatory States

The Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) presents his compliments to the Minister for Foreign Affairs and has the honor to notify him that, by the date until which it was open for signature (that is, December 31, 1989), the following States had signed the Protocol Relating to the Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks, adopted at Madrid on June 27, 1989 ("Madrid Protocol (1989)"):

- Belgium, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Egypt, France, German Democratic Republic, Germany (Federal Republic of), Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Mongolia, Morocco, Portugal, Soviet Union, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Yugoslavia, on June 28, 1989;

- Greece, on December 13, 1989; Monaco and Sweden, on December 21, 1989; Finland, Netherlands and Senegal, on December 27, 1989; Ireland, on December 28, 1989; Austria, on December 29, 1989; Romania, on December 30, 1989.

(Total: 28 States)

Any of the above listed States may become a party to the Madrid Protocol (1989) by depositing an instrument of ratification, acceptance or approval. Any State which has not signed it and is a party to the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property and any intergovernmental organization fulfilling the conditions stated in Article 14(1)(b) of the Madrid Protocol (1989) may become a party to it by depositing an instrument of accession.

Instruments of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession must be deposited with the Director General of WIPO.

February 9, 1990