Berne Notification No. 2
Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works

Signatory Countries

The Director of the United International Bureaux for the Protection of Intellectual Property (BIRPI) presents his compliments to the Minister for Foreign Affairs and, in accordance with the provisions of the above international instrument, adopted at Stockholm, has the honor to notify him that, at the expiration of the period of time reserved for that purpose (that is, on January 13, 1968), the following countries had affixed their signatures:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Congo-Kinshasa, Denmark, Finland, France, Gabon, Germany (Federal Republic), Greece, Holy See, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Niger, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Senegal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Yugoslavia. (39 countries)

The Director of BIRPI wishes to call attention to the fact that all of the signatures were affixed subject to ratification.

The following countries availed themselves of the reservation provided for in Article 33(2), declaring that they did not consider themselves bound by the provisions of paragraph (1) of that Article: Bulgaria, Poland, Rumania.

When affixing his signature, the plenipotentiary of Poland made a declaration which is communicated herein at his request, transmitted by the Government of Sweden.

"When signing the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works of September 9, 1886, revised at Stockholm on July 14, 1967, the Polish People's Republic made the following declaration: The provisions of Article 31 of the Berne Convention, giving member States the right to extend the effects of the said Convention to the territories for the external relations of which they are responsible, are out-of-date and contrary to Resolution No. 1514/XV passed by the General Assembly of the UN on December 14, 1960."

January 30, 1968