About Intellectual Property IP Training Respect for IP IP Outreach IP for… IP and... IP in... Patent & Technology Information Trademark Information Industrial Design Information Geographical Indication Information Plant Variety Information (UPOV) IP Laws, Treaties & Judgements IP Resources IP Reports Patent Protection Trademark Protection Industrial Design Protection Geographical Indication Protection Plant Variety Protection (UPOV) IP Dispute Resolution IP Office Business Solutions Paying for IP Services Negotiation & Decision-Making Development Cooperation Innovation Support Public-Private Partnerships AI Tools & Services The Organization Working with WIPO Accountability Patents Trademarks Industrial Designs Geographical Indications Copyright Trade Secrets WIPO Academy Workshops & Seminars IP Enforcement WIPO ALERT Raising Awareness World IP Day WIPO Magazine Case Studies & Success Stories IP News WIPO Awards Business Universities Indigenous Peoples Judiciaries Genetic Resources, Traditional Knowledge and Traditional Cultural Expressions Economics Gender Equality Global Health Climate Change Competition Policy Sustainable Development Goals Frontier Technologies Mobile Applications Sports Tourism PATENTSCOPE Patent Analytics International Patent Classification ARDI – Research for Innovation ASPI – Specialized Patent Information Global Brand Database Madrid Monitor Article 6ter Express Database Nice Classification Vienna Classification Global Design Database International Designs Bulletin Hague Express Database Locarno Classification Lisbon Express Database Global Brand Database for GIs PLUTO Plant Variety Database GENIE Database WIPO-Administered Treaties WIPO Lex - IP Laws, Treaties & Judgments WIPO Standards IP Statistics WIPO Pearl (Terminology) WIPO Publications Country IP Profiles WIPO Knowledge Center WIPO Technology Trends Global Innovation Index World Intellectual Property Report PCT – The International Patent System ePCT Budapest – The International Microorganism Deposit System Madrid – The International Trademark System eMadrid Article 6ter (armorial bearings, flags, state emblems) Hague – The International Design System eHague Lisbon – The International System of Appellations of Origin and Geographical Indications eLisbon UPOV PRISMA UPOV e-PVP Administration UPOV e-PVP DUS Exchange Mediation Arbitration Expert Determination Domain Name Disputes Centralized Access to Search and Examination (CASE) Digital Access Service (DAS) WIPO Pay Current Account at WIPO WIPO Assemblies Standing Committees Calendar of Meetings WIPO Webcast WIPO Official Documents Development Agenda Technical Assistance IP Training Institutions COVID-19 Support National IP Strategies Policy & Legislative Advice Cooperation Hub Technology and Innovation Support Centers (TISC) Technology Transfer Inventor Assistance Program WIPO GREEN WIPO's Pat-INFORMED Accessible Books Consortium WIPO for Creators WIPO Translate Speech-to-Text Classification Assistant Member States Observers Director General Activities by Unit External Offices Job Vacancies Procurement Results & Budget Financial Reporting Oversight
Arabic English Spanish French Russian Chinese
Laws Treaties Judgments Browse By Jurisdiction

Agreement on the Importation of Educational, Scientific and Cultural Materials

Notification of extension to Belgian Congo and Trust Territory of Ruanda-Urundi: October 31, 1957.
On June 10, 1997, the Secretary-General received communications concerning the status of Hong Kong from the Governments of the United Kingdom and China.
"In accordance with the Joint Declaration of the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the Government of the People’s Republic of China on the Question of Hong Kong, signed on 19 December 1984, the People’s Republic of China will resume the exercise of sovereignty over Hong Kong with effect from 1 July 1997. Hong Kong will, with effect from that date, become a Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China."
Notification of extension to Tunisia: December 10, 1951.
Netherlands (Kingdom of the)
By a communication received on 30 December 1985, the Government of the Netherlands informed the Secretary-General that "the island of Aruba which was a part of the Netherlands Antilles would obtain internal autonomy as a separate country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands as of 1 January 1986". The said change would have no consequence in international law. The treaties concluded by the Kingdom which applied to the Netherlands Antilles, including Aruba, would continue, after 1 January 1986 to apply to the Netherlands Antilles (of which Aruba is no longer a part) and to Aruba.
Notification of extension to Netherlands New Guinea and Suriname: October 31, 1957.
New Zealand
In a communication dated April 10, 2002, the Government of New Zealand confirmed the following in respect of Tokelau:
"Consistent with international law, New Zealand regards all treaty actions as extending to Tokelau as a non-self-governing territory of New Zealand unless express provision to the contrary is included in the relevant treaty instrument."
Notification of extension to Cook Islands (including Niue): February 28, 1964.
Notification of extension to Tokelau Islands: June 29, 1962.
United Kingdom
On June 10, 1997, the Secretary-General received communications concerning the status of Hong Kong from the Governments of the United Kingdom and China:
"In accordance with the Joint Declaration of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the Government of the People's Republic of China on the Question of Hong Kong signed on 19 December 1984, the Government of the United Kingdom will restore Hong Kong to the People's Republic of China with effect from 1 July 1997. The Government of the United Kingdom will continue to have international responsibility for Hong Kong until that date. Therefore, from that date the Government of the United Kingdom will cease to be responsible for the international rights and obligations arising from the application of [Conventions] to Hong Kong."
Notification of extension to Bahamas: March 14, 1960.
Notification of extension to Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland: March 22, 1956.
Notification of extension to Channel Islands and Isle of Man: May 18, 1955.
Notification of extension to Cyprus, Falkland Islands (Colony and Dependencies) (Malvinas), North Borneo (including Labuan), Tonga (Protected State), Windward Islands (Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Vincent): September 16, 1954.
Notification of extension to British Solomon Islands, Central and Southern Line Islands, Christmas Island and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Federation of Malaya, Gilbert and Ellice Islands, Malta, Mauritius, Nigeria Colony, Nigeria Protectorate, St. Helena, St. Helena and Dependencies, Sarawak, Seychelles, Sierra Leone Colony, Sierra Leone Protectorate, Singapore, Somalian Protectorate, Tanganyika, Territory of the Cameroons under British Administration, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda Protectorate, Western Pacific High Commission and Zanzibar Protectorate: March 11, 1954.
Notification of extension to Antigua, Barbados, British Guiana, British Honduras, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cayman Islands, Colony of Aden, Fiji, Gambia Colony, Gambia Protectorate, Gibraltar, Gold Coast Colony, Gold Coast Northern Territory, Hong Kong, Jamaica, Kenya Colony, Kenya Protectorate, Leeward Islands, Montserrat, St. Christopher and Nevis, Territory of Togoland under British Administration and Turks and Caicos Islands: March 11, 1954.