About Intellectual Property IP Training IP Outreach IP for… IP and... IP in... Patent & Technology Information Trademark Information Industrial Design Information Geographical Indication Information Plant Variety Information (UPOV) IP Laws, Treaties & Judgements IP Resources IP Reports Patent Protection Trademark Protection Industrial Design Protection Geographical Indication Protection Plant Variety Protection (UPOV) IP Dispute Resolution IP Office Business Solutions Paying for IP Services Negotiation & Decision-Making Development Cooperation Innovation Support Public-Private Partnerships The Organization Working with WIPO Accountability Patents Trademarks Industrial Designs Geographical Indications Copyright Trade Secrets WIPO Academy Workshops & Seminars World IP Day WIPO Magazine Raising Awareness Case Studies & Success Stories IP News WIPO Awards Business Universities Indigenous Peoples Judiciaries Genetic Resources, Traditional Knowledge and Traditional Cultural Expressions Economics Gender Equality Global Health Climate Change Competition Policy Sustainable Development Goals Enforcement Frontier Technologies Mobile Applications Sports Tourism PATENTSCOPE Patent Analytics International Patent Classification ARDI – Research for Innovation ASPI – Specialized Patent Information Global Brand Database Madrid Monitor Article 6ter Express Database Nice Classification Vienna Classification Global Design Database International Designs Bulletin Hague Express Database Locarno Classification Lisbon Express Database Global Brand Database for GIs PLUTO Plant Variety Database GENIE Database WIPO-Administered Treaties WIPO Lex - IP Laws, Treaties & Judgments WIPO Standards IP Statistics WIPO Pearl (Terminology) WIPO Publications Country IP Profiles WIPO Knowledge Center WIPO Technology Trends Global Innovation Index World Intellectual Property Report PCT – The International Patent System ePCT Budapest – The International Microorganism Deposit System Madrid – The International Trademark System eMadrid Article 6ter (armorial bearings, flags, state emblems) Hague – The International Design System eHague Lisbon – The International System of Appellations of Origin and Geographical Indications eLisbon UPOV PRISMA Mediation Arbitration Expert Determination Domain Name Disputes Centralized Access to Search and Examination (CASE) Digital Access Service (DAS) WIPO Pay Current Account at WIPO WIPO Assemblies Standing Committees Calendar of Meetings WIPO Official Documents Development Agenda Technical Assistance IP Training Institutions COVID-19 Support National IP Strategies Policy & Legislative Advice Cooperation Hub Technology and Innovation Support Centers (TISC) Technology Transfer Inventor Assistance Program WIPO GREEN WIPO's Pat-INFORMED Accessible Books Consortium WIPO for Creators WIPO ALERT Member States Observers Director General Activities by Unit External Offices Job Vacancies Procurement Results & Budget Financial Reporting Oversight

Contribution Classes of States Members of WIPO and/or the Paris and/or Berne Unions [1]

Status on August 1, 2023

Afghanistan Ster   Germany I   Oman IX
Albania IX   Ghana Sbis      
Algeria IX   Greece VI   Pakistan IX
Andorra IX   Grenada Sbis   Panama S
Angola Ster   Guatemala S   Papua New Guinea Sbis
Antigua and Barbuda Sbis   Guinea Ster   Paraguay Sbis
Argentina VIbis   Guinea-Bissau Ster   Peru IX
Armenia IX   Guyana Sbis   Philippines IX
Australia III         Poland VI
Austria IVbis   Haiti  Ster   Portugal IVbis
Azerbaijan IX   Holy See IX      
      Honduras Sbis   Qatar IX
Bahamas Sbis   Hungary VI      
Bahrain S         Republic of Korea IV
Bangladesh Ster   Iceland VIII   Republic of Moldova IX
Barbados Sbis   India VIbis   Romania VIbis
Belarus IX   Indonesia VII   Russian Federation IV
Belgium IV   Iran (Islamic Republic of) VII   Rwanda Ster
Belize Sbis   Iraq IX      
Benin Ster   Ireland IV   Saint Kitts and Nevis Sbis
Bhutan Ster   Israel VIbis   Saint Lucia Sbis
Bolivia Sbis   Italy III   Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Sbis
Bosnia and Herzegovina Sbis         Samoa Sbis
Botswana Sbis   Jamaica  Sbis   San Marino IX
Brazil VIbis   Japan I   Sao Tome and Principe Ster
Brunei Darussalam S   Jordan S   Saudi Arabia VII
Bulgaria VIbis         Senegal Ster
Burkina Faso Ster   Kazakhstan IX   Serbia[2] VIII
Burundi Ster   Kenya S   Seychelles Sbis
      Kiribati Ster   Sierra Leone Ster
Cabo Verde Sbis   Kuwait IX   Singapore IX
Cambodia Ster   Kyrgyzstan IX   Slovakia VI
Cameroon Sbis         Slovenia VII
Canada IV   Lao People's Democratic Republic Ster   Solomon Islands Ster
Central African Republic Ster   Latvia IX   Somalia Ster
Chad Ster   Lebanon S   South Africa IVbis
Chile IX   Lesotho Ster   Spain IV
China IV   Liberia Ster   Sri Lanka S
Colombia IX   Libya Sbis   Sudan Ster
Comoros Ster   Liechtenstein VIII   Suriname Sbis
Congo Sbis   Lithuania IX   Sweden III
Cook Islands Sbis   Luxembourg VII   Switzerland III
Costa Rica S         Syrian Arab Republic Sbis
Côte d'Ivoire Sbis   Madagascar Ster      
Croatia VIII   Malawi Ster   Tajikistan IX
Cuba S   Malaysia VIII   Thailand IX
Cyprus S   Maldives Sbis   Timor-Leste Ster
Czech Republic VI   Mali Ster   Togo Ster
      Malta Sbis   Tonga Sbis
Democratic People's Republic of Korea Sbis   Marshall Islands Sbis   Trinidad and Tobago S
Democratic Republic of the Congo Ster   Mauritania Ster   Tunisia Sbis
Denmark IV   Mauritius Sbis   Türkiye VIbis
Djibouti Ster   Mexico IVbis   Turkmenistan IX
Dominica Sbis   Micronesia (Federated States of) Sbis   Tuvalu Ster
Dominican Republic S   Monaco VII      
      Mongolia Sbis   Uganda Ster
Ecuador S   Montenegro IX   Ukraine IX
Egypt IX   Morocco S   United Arab Emirates IX
El Salvador Sbis   Mozambique Ster   United Kingdom I
Equatorial Guinea Sbis   Myanmar Ster   United Republic of Tanzania Ster
Eritrea Ster         United States of America I
Estonia IX   Namibia Sbis   Uruguay S
Eswatini Sbis   Nauru Sbis   Uzbekistan IX
Ethiopia Ster   Nepal Ster      
      Netherlands (Kingdom of the) III   Vanuatu Sbis
Fiji Sbis   New Zealand VI   Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) IX
Finland IV   Nicaragua Sbis   Viet Nam S
France I   Niger Ster      
      Nigeria IX   Yemen Ster
Gabon Sbis   Niue Ster      
Gambia Ster   North Macedonia VIII   Zambia Ster
Georgia IX   Norway IV   Zimbabwe Sbis

(Total: 194 States)


1 The unitary contribution system established with effect from January 1, 1994, replaced the separate contribution systems of WIPO and the six Contribution-financed Unions, that is, each State pays one contribution, irrespective of whether it is a member of WIPO or of one or more of the Contribution-financed Unions. Under the unitary contribution system, there are the following classes corresponding to the units of contribution indicated between parentheses: I (25), II (20), III (15), IV (10), IVbis (7.5), V (5), VI (3), VIbis (2), VII (1), VIII (1/2), IX (1/4), S (1/8), Sbis (1/16) and Ster (1/32).

2 Serbia is the continuing State from Serbia and Montenegro as from June 3, 2006.