Nice Classification

The Nice Classification (NCL), established by the Nice Agreement (1957), is an international classification of goods and services applied for the registration of marks.  A new edition is published every five years and, since 2013, a new version of each edition is published annually. Find out more about the NCL


Assembly of the Nice Union

All states that have ratified or acceded to the Stockholm or the Geneva Act of the Nice Agreement are members of the Nice Union Assembly. The Assembly meets in ordinary session once every two years. The Assembly deals with all matters concerning the maintenance and development of the Union and the implementation of the Nice Agreement.

Note: Circulars are available in respective meeting pages.

Committee of Experts

Each state party to the Nice Agreement is represented in the Committee of Experts set up by the Agreement. As from 2012, the Committee holds its sessions once every year.  The Committee decides on any changes to be incorporated in the Nice Classification, which are subsequently published in the form of new editions every five years, and new versions every year.

Related links

About IP

Other international classifications

  • Vienna (figurative elements of marks)
  • Locarno (industrial designs)
  • IPC (patents)