Factual Background
The Complainant develops and publishes video games designed for multiple platforms, including personal computers, mobile phones, “iOS” devices (e.g. iPhone, iPad), handheld gaming units (e.g. Sony Playstation Portable, Nintendo DS), and gaming console systems (e.g. Microsoft Xbox 360, Sony Playstation, Nintendo Wii), delivered through physical retail, digital download, online platforms and cloud streaming services.
...
2013-03-12 - Case Details
One or more descriptive elements cannot remove the overall impression made on the public by the trademark which is the dominant part of the domain name (Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409). In addition, the Panel notes in the present case that the addition of the abbreviation “chem” to the Complainant’s SYNTHITE trademark strengthens the apparent link between the disputed domain name and the said trademark, given that the Complainant is in the chemical manufacturing business, which in the opinion of the Panel increases the likelihood of confusion.
...
2013-10-30 - Case Details
En este sitio web se ofrecen
productos de la Demandante y otras empresas competidoras como Samsung, iPhone o Sony.
5. Alegaciones de las Partes
A. Demandante
La Demandante se presenta como una empresa china fundada en abril de 2010, especializada en la
fabricación de productos electrónicos e inteligentes, habiéndose convertido en una de las empresas
innovadoras mayores en el sector tecnológico, con una importante presencia en redes sociales y millones
de seguidores.
...Además, el Demandado usa su sitio web no sólo para ofrecer los productos de la
Demandante, como si fuera ésta, sino también productos de otras marcas, como Samsung, iPhone o Sony.
En definitiva, el Demandado que no ha contestado a la advertencia de cese y desistimiento enviada por la
Demandante ni ha contestado a la Demanda, por lo que ningún derecho o interés legítimo propio ha opuesto
para haber registrado el nombre de dominio en disputa y por tanto no ha rebatido el caso prima facie
establecido por la Demandante.
...
2024-07-01 - Case Details
In this regard the Complainant cites the decision of the panel in Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409.
The Complainant further argues that the likelihood of confusion is increased by the strength of the reputation of the Complainant’s trade name, trademarks, domain names and more generally speaking goodwill. ...
2018-01-23 - Case Details
Diversion of Internet traffic amounts to bad faith because it is an abuse of
the Complainant’s goodwill (Sony Kabushiki a/t/a Sony Corporation v Fujiko
Kikuno WIPO Case No. D2000-1372 [December 27, 2000]).
...
2003-04-15 - Case Details
Diabetes Home Care, Inc. and DHC Services,
Caso OMPI No. D2001-0174; Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Kil Inja,
Caso OMPI No. D2000-1409 y America Online, Inc. v. ...
2008-03-26 - Case Details
Complainant states that Respondent’s domain name resolves to a website at “www.premier-computers.org” which contains links and directs people to non-Gateway websites, including sites belonging to Complainant’s direct competitors such as Dell, HP, Lenovo, and Sony. Thus, Respondent is using the domain name in dispute to attract people who are interested in Complainant’s computers distinguished by Complainant’s trademark GATEWAY, and diverting them to sites advertising and selling non-Gateway computers. ...Respondent’s domain name resolves to a website at “www.premier-computers.org” which contains links and directs people to non-Gateway websites, including sites belonging to Complainant’s direct competitors such as Dell, HP, Lenovo, and Sony. The Panel infers from Respondent’s typo-squatting and the content on Respondent’s website that Respondent is receiving pay-per-click payments for hits on the websites posted on the pages associated with the domain name in dispute.
...
2008-03-18 - Case Details
The Panel is furthermore of the view that the addition
of the generic top-level domains (“gTLD”) “.com, “ “.net”
or “.org” is irrelevant in determining the element of confusing
similarity. See Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation)
v. Inja, Kil, WIPO Case No. D2000-1409;
Little Six, Inc. d/b/a Mystic Casino Hotel v. ...
2005-09-28 - Case Details
The Respondent’s website at the disputed domain name does, however, contain an offer for a Sony PlayStation 2, pursuant to an offer purportedly from . The Sony PlayStation 2 is a product for playing computer games, which happens to be competitive to the Complainant’s famous XBOX product, which is a television-based system for playing computer games.
...
2005-08-31 - Case Details
It is well recognized in previous cases under the Policy that where the Complainant’s trademark is incorporated in its entirety within a domain name, the addition of one or more generic words will not distinguish that domain name from the trademark (see, for example, Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Kil Inja,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409). The dominant part of the disputed domain name is the Complainant’s BIG W trademark and not the word “photos”. ...
2010-09-07 - Case Details
Telefonaktiebolaget L M Ericsson v. Dailey Wells Comm,
WIPO Case No. DCC2006-0005; Sony Ericsson Mobile Communication AB, Telefonaktiebolaget LM Ericsson, Sony Corporation v. Netfreez,
WIPO Case No. ...
2011-01-13 - Case Details
The mere addition of common terms such as "show" or "tvshow"
to the PEPSI or PEPSI SMASH marks is of no import. See, e.g., Sony Kabushiki
Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil, WIPO
Case No. D2000-1409 (addition of ordinary descriptive word as prefix or
suffix to a world-famous mark such as SONY does not detract from overall impression
of the dominant part of the name, the famous mark); America Online, Inc.
...
2004-01-08 - Case Details
D2000-0003 (finding the respondent's passive holding of the domain name constituted bad faith); Also see, Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409. In such cases, the panel must examine all the circumstances to determine whether the respondent is acting in bad faith.
...
2008-12-24 - Case Details
The addition of the word “fly” to the Complainant’s trademark even increases the likelihood of confusion since Airbus is commonly known as a major aircraft manufacturer that obviously wishes the world to fly its aircrafts (see Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409; UBS AG v. ...
2007-06-22 - Case Details
UDRP panelists have already held that “the deliberate creation of initial interest confusion and the consequent diversion of Internet traffic is sufficient to establish bad faith on the Respondent's part” (Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications International AB, Telefonaktieb olaget LM Ericsson, Sony Corporation v. ...
2009-07-09 - Case Details
D2002-0215 (the “neutral” addition of “girls” in the Domain Name was a difference insufficient to avoid confusion with registered mark); Sony Corporation v. Park Kwangsoo,
WIPO Case No. D2001-0167 ( confusingly similar to Complainant’s SONY mark).
...
2007-12-10 - Case Details
D2002-0215 (the “neutral” addition of “girls” in the Domain Name was a difference insufficient to avoid confusion with registered mark); Sony Corporation v. Park Kwangsoo,
WIPO Case No. D2001-0167 ( confusingly similar to Complainant’s SONY mark).
...
2007-12-10 - Case Details
Diabetes Home Care, Inc. and DHC Services,
WIPO Case No. D2001-0174; Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Kil Inja,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409 and America Online, Inc. v. ...
2011-07-28 - Case Details
D2000-0493, Rollerblade, Inc. v. Chris McCrady,
WIPO Case No. D2000-0429 and Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409).
Therefore this Panel finds that the domain names are identical to the Complainant’s trademark FRUKI. ...
2011-08-10 - Case Details
Such elements cannot remove the overall impression made on the public by the trademark, which in the present case is the dominant element of the disputed domain name (Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409). The third element of the disputed domain name is the generic top level domain “.com”, which is disregarded for the purposes of comparison as is customary in cases under the Policy.
...
2013-09-26 - Case Details