Fifteen Candidatures Received for Post of Director General of WIPO

Geneva, February 13, 2008

Fifteen candidatures for the post of Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) were received by 5 p.m. (Geneva time) on February 13, 2008, the deadline fixed for the submission of names. The WIPO Coordination Committee, which is composed of 83 member states, will meet on May 13 and 14, 2008 to nominate a candidate for appointment to this position by the WIPO General Assembly, which is scheduled from September 22 to 30, 2008.

The candidates are (in alphabetical order of names of candidates):  Mrs. Alicia Adamczak (Poland), Mr. Toufiq Ali (Bangladesh), Mr. Jorge Amigo (Mexico), Mr. Gjorgji Filipov (The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia), Mr. José Graça Aranha (Brazil), Mr. Francis Gurry (Australia), Mr. Masood Khan (Pakistan), Mr. Enrique A. Manalo (Philippines), Mr. Mauro Masi (Italy), Mr. James Otieno Odek (Kenya), Mr. Philippe Petit (France), Mr. Bojan Pretnar (Slovenia), Mr. Boris Simonov (Russian Federation), Mr. Yoshiyuki Takagi (Japan), and Mr. José Delmer Urbizo (Honduras).

The process of selecting a Director General is governed by the Convention Establishing the World Intellectual Property Organization and “The Procedures for the Nomination and Appointment of Directors General of WIPO,” adopted by the General Assembly of WIPO in September 1998.

For more information, please contact the News and Media Division at WIPO:
  • Tel: (+41 22) 338 81 61 / 338 72 24
  • E-mail