It is well established that the addition of a descriptive or generic term to a famous mark fails to distinguish the resulting domain name from the mark or dispel the resulting confusion. Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409. Coupling generic terms with a well known trademark in the context of a domain name can serve to aggravate the likelihood of confusion. ...
2009-11-19 - Case Details
Este Experto considera que el uso del nombre de dominio por parte del Titular ha creado la falsa impresión de asociación con la Promovente (Ver mutatis mutandi, Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
Caso OMPI No. D2000-1409). Y por lo tanto, el nombre de dominio en cuestión fue registrado y es usado de mala fe.
...
2010-03-24 - Case Details
D2000-0493, Rollerblade, Inc. v. Chris McCrady,
WIPO Case No. D2000-0429 and Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409).
Complainants' trademark registrations for JANE NORMAN have not been contested by the Respondent.
...
2009-07-03 - Case Details
It is well recognized in previous cases under the Policy that where the Complainant’s trademark is incorporated in its entirety within a domain name, the addition of one or more generic words will generally not distinguish that domain name from the trademark (see, for example, Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Kil Inja,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409). The dominant parts of the disputed domain names are the Complainant’s trademarks which, as the Complainant submits, are coined terms and thus highly distinctive. ...
2011-05-18 - Case Details
It is well-established in UDRP decisions that “initial interest confusion” and the resultant misdirection of Internet traffic is independently sufficient to establish bad faith. See e.g., Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications International AB, Telefonaktiebolaget LM Ericsson, Sony Corporation v. ...
2008-08-29 - Case Details
It is well-established in UDRP decisions that “initial interest confusion” and the resultant misdirection of Internet traffic is independently sufficient to establish bad faith. See e.g., Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications International AB, Telefonaktiebolaget LM Ericsson, Sony Corporation v. ...
2008-08-19 - Case Details
Javier Garcia Quintas and Christiandior.net,
WIPO Case No. D2000-0226 and Sony Kabushiki Kaisha also trading as Sony Corporation v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409, “It is inconceivable that the Respondent could make any active use of the disputed domain name without creating a false impression of association with the Complainant. ...
2008-05-29 - Case Details
D2000-0003 (finding the respondent’s passive holding of the domain name constituted bad faith); Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409 (same). ...
2008-05-19 - Case Details
The Complainant cites cases, Six Continental Hotels Inc v. Dkal
WIPO Case No. D2003-0244, and Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409, and states that, particularly in the case of hotels, addition of non-distinctive words or geographical indicators to the marks add to, rather than diminish the likelihood of confusion.
...
2007-12-04 - Case Details
As observed by another panel, “the deliberate creation of initial interest confusion and the consequent diversion of internet traffic is sufficient to establish bad faith on the Respondent’s part” (Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications International AB, Telefonaktiebolaget LM Ericsson, Sony Corporation v. ...
2007-09-20 - Case Details
Atendiendo a las constancias del caso que nos ocupa, la Demandante argumenta que la Demandada ofrece servicios idénticos o similares a los amparados por las marcas HARMON HALL a través del nombre de dominio en disputa y logra acreditar que el registro y el uso del nombre de dominio en disputa por parte de la Demandada ha creado la falsa impresión de asociación con la Demandante. (Ver, mutatis mutandis, Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
Caso OMPI No. D2000-1409 y Pfizer Inc. v. ...
2011-11-17 - Case Details
Atendiendo a las constancias del caso que nos ocupa, la Demandante argumenta que la Demandada oferta servicios idénticos o similares a los amparados por las marcas HARMON HALL a través del nombre de dominio en disputa y logra acreditar que el registro y el uso de dicho nombre de dominio por parte de la Demandada ha creado la falsa e ilegítima impresión de asociación con la Demandante. (Ver, mutatis mutandi, Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
Caso OMPI No. D2000-1409 y Pfizer Inc. v. ...
2011-11-17 - Case Details
D2000-0641, where the selection of domain names is so obviously connected to the complainant’s trademark their very use by someone with no connection with the company suggests opportunistic bad faith. Similarly, in Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409, where the respondent registered a number of domain names incorporating a well-known trademark in its entirety, the panel stated, “that it is inconceivable that the respondent could make any active use of the disputed domain names without creating a false impression of association with the complainant”.
...
2011-08-19 - Case Details
D2000-0493, Rollerblade, Inc. v. Chris McCrady,
WIPO Case No. D2000-0429 and Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409).
The Panel finds that the domain name is confusingly similar to the Complainant’s trademark. ...
2011-06-27 - Case Details
D2000-0641, where the selection of domain names is so obviously connected to the complainant’s trademark their very use by someone with no connection with the company suggests opportunistic bad faith. Similarly, in Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409, where the respondent registered a number of domain names incorporating a well-known trademark in its entirety, the panel stated, “that it is inconceivable that the respondent could make any active use of the disputed domain names without creating a false impression of association with the complainant”.
...
2011-11-25 - Case Details
D2000-0641, where the selection of domain names is so obviously connected to the complainant’s trademark their very use by someone with no connection with the company suggests opportunistic bad faith. Similarly, in Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409, where the respondent registered a number of domain names incorporating a well-known trademark in its entirety, the panel stated, “that it is inconceivable that the respondent could make any active use of the disputed domain names without creating a false impression of association with the complainant”
Evidence provided by the Complainant indicates that the disputed domain name was subsequently changed to resolve to a website that serves “pop-up” advertisements misleadingly suggesting that the visitor has won a prize. ...
2012-01-13 - Case Details
D2000-0493, Rollerblade, Inc. v. Chris McCrady,
WIPO Case No. D2000-0429 and Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409).
Therefore this Panel finds that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to the Complainants' trademark. ...
2010-06-23 - Case Details
In this respect, the Complainant cites the decisions in Sony Corporation (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409 and F Hoffmann-La Roche AG v. ...
2010-06-21 - Case Details
D2000-0493, Rollerblade, Inc. v. Chris McCrady,
WIPO Case No. D2000-0429 and Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409).
Therefore this Panel finds that the disputed domain name is confusingly similar to the Complainants’ trademark. ...
2010-10-25 - Case Details
D2000-0641, where the selection of domain names is so obviously connected to the complainant’s trademark their very use by someone with no connection with the company suggests opportunistic bad faith. Similarly, in Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409, where the respondent registered a number of domain names incorporating a well-known trademark in its entirety, the panel stated, “that it is inconceivable that the respondent could make any active use of the disputed domain names without creating a false impression of association with the complainant”.
...
2012-10-16 - Case Details