Compart.com / Vertical Axis, Inc.,
WIPO Case No. D2009-0462; Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409. It is inconceivable that the disputed domain name was chosen by happenstance to serve as a domain name for a website that features competitive cosmetic and skin care products and includes references to the Complainant's products. ...
2012-02-28 - Case Details
Furthermore, the Panel may also make negative inferences arising from Respondent's use of fraudulent WhoIs information, as well as from Respondent's failure to respond. See, e.g., Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409.
The Panel finds that Complainant has established that the disputed domain name was registered and is being used in bad faith, as outlined in paragraph 4(a)(iii) of the Policy.
7. ...
2016-10-11 - Case Details
Furthermore, the Panel may also make negative inferences arising from the Respondent’s failure to respond, and that the disputed domain name registration contains what is apparently incorrect contact info. See, e.g., Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409.
The Panel finds that Complainant has established that the disputed domain name was registered and is being used in bad faith, as outlined in paragraph 4(a)(iii) of the Policy.
7. ...
2020-02-24 - Case Details
Furthermore, the Panel may make negative inferences arising from Respondent's failure to respond. See, e.g., Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409.
The Panel finds that in light of all the circumstances of this case Complainant has established that the disputed domain name was registered and is being used in bad faith, as outlined in paragraph 4(a)(iii) of the Policy.
7. ...
2018-06-13 - Case Details
Thus the Respondent
who is located in the US could not ignore the existence of this trademark at
the time of registering the domain name and could
not ignore that Prada is the sponsor of the yacht LUNA ROSSA (see Sony Kabushiki
Kaisha also trading as Sony Corporation v. Sin, Eonmok, WIPO
Case No D2000-1007).
- The Registrant has not alleged any facts or elements to justify prior rights or legitimate interests in the said domain name. ...
2004-12-22 - Case Details
The Domain Names resolve to websites which contain links to websites belonging to Complainant’s direct competitors, such as Dell, Sony, and Toshiba.
The web page printouts annexed to the Complaint show that the “www.gatemway.com” website contains pages which state at the top “Welcome to gatemway.com”. ...Similar pages at the site prominently feature links to Sony, Toshiba, and HP computer products. (There is also a similar page linking to Complainant’s site.) ...
2008-04-23 - Case Details
In relation to the addition of “my” the Panel also refers to a similar case previously submitted to the Center (Sony Kabushiki Kaisha also trading as Sony Corporation v. Sin, Eonmok,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1007) where it was determined that the domain name was confusingly similar to the Complainant’s trademark SONY in the following terms: “The letters ‘my’, to an English language reader, introduce the concept of possessiveness. That which is possessed is the following letters, namely ‘Sony’, which is the Complainant’s trademark. The addition of the letters ‘my’ has the effect of focusing the reader’s attention on the Complainant’s trademark. ...
2013-04-30 - Case Details
Centre d’Arbitrage et de Médiation de l’OMPI
DÉCISION DE LA COMMISSION ADMINISTRATIVE
Tour de Charme, S.A.R.L., Sony Music, Entertainment (Holland) B.V. et Mademoiselle Patricia Kaas contre Stars en Direct
Litige n° D2002-0733
1. ...Mademoiselle Patricia KAAS est une chanteuse française de renommée internationale.
La société SONY est productrice des disques de Mademoiselle Patricia KAAS. Elle est également réservataire notamment des noms de domaine suivants (Annexe N° 5 de la plainte) :
-
-
La chanteuse Patricia KAAS et la société SONY se joignent à la plainte de la société TOUR DE CHARME en vue d'obtenir le transfert du nom de domaine en question en faveur de cette dernière.
...
2002-11-11 - Case Details
For example, Complainant
has referred to a proceeding in which was determined to be
confusingly similar to the well known mark “Sony” (Sony Kabushiki
Kaishi v. Sin, Eonmok, WIPO Case
No. D2000-1007, decided November 16, 2000). “Sony”, however,
is a distinctive coined term and not a common geographically descriptive term.
The combination of “my” with “Sony” does not create
a new distinctive term. When a party, as Complainant here, has adopted a common
geographically descriptive term for its service mark, it faces a greater risk
that the combination of that term with another common term will in fact distinguish
the new combination.2
It is easy to posit myriad uses of the term “my Southwest” in contexts
other than the air travel industry in which no connection to Complainant would
arise in the mind of the Internet user. ...
2005-06-27 - Case Details
D2001-0026 (March 23, 2001),
(finding confusing similarity where the domain name in dispute contains the
identical mark of the complainant combined with a generic word or term); see
also Sony Kabushiki Kaisha v. Inja, Kil, WIPO
Case No. D2000-1409 (December 9, 2000), (finding that “[n]either the
addition of an ordinary descriptive word . . . nor the suffix ‘.com’
detract from the overall impression of the dominant part of the name in each
case, namely the trademark SONY” and thus the Policy, paragraph 4(a)(i)
is satisfied).
...
2006-04-27 - Case Details
Several prior UDRP panels have held that the addition of a non-distinctive, descriptive or generic terms do not change the overall impression of a mark. See, e.g., Sony Kabushiki Kaisha also trading as Sony Corporation v. Sin, Eonmok,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1007, MasterCard International Incorporated v. ...
2009-02-17 - Case Details
D2001-0174; America Online, Inc. v. Chris Hoffman,
WIPO Case No. D2001-1184; Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409 참조).
분쟁도메인이름은 SAMSUNG에 “eco”가 단순하게 접미어로 추가되어 있으므로, 신청인이 권리를 가진 SAMSUNG과 분쟁도메인이름인 은 동일하거나 혼동을 야기할 정도로 유사한 것으로 판단된다...
2009-04-08 - Case Details
WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center
ADMINISTRATIVE PANEL DECISION
LEGO Juris A/S v. Sony Laksono, N/A / PrivacyProtect.org
Case No. D2011-2268
1. The Parties
The Complainant is LEGO Juris A/S of Billund, Denmark, represented by Melbourne IT Digital Brand Services, Sweden.
The Respondent is Sony Laksono, N/A of Palembang, Indonesia / PrivacyProtect.org of Nobby Beach, Australia.
2. The Domain Name and Registrar
The disputed domain name (the “Domain Name”) is registered with UK2 Group Ltd. ...
2012-02-15 - Case Details
Identical or Confusingly Similar
The Domain Name contains the whole of the Complainant’s registered trade mark HICKORY CHAIR. As set out in Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v Kil Inja,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409, the addition of an ordinary descriptive word (in this case “furniture”) either as a prefix or suffix and the addition of the suffix “.net” will not detract from the overall impression of the dominant part of a domain name (that is, the HICKORY CHAIR elements). ...
2010-10-12 - Case Details
The use of this descriptive word cannot prevent the Domain Name from being confusingly similar to the Trademark (see Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409, F. Hoffman-La Roche AG v. ...
2012-10-08 - Case Details
In the Panel’s view, the use of this descriptive word cannot prevent the Domain Name from being confusingly similar to the Trademark (see Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409, F. Hoffman-La Roche AG v. ...
2012-10-04 - Case Details
Furthermore, the Panel may also make negative inferences arising from Respondent’s failure to respond. See, e.g., Sony Kabushiki Kaisha (also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil,
WIPO Case No. D2000-1409.
The Panel finds that Complainant has established that the Domain Name was registered and is being used in bad faith, as outlined in paragraph 4(a)(iii) of the Policy.
7. ...
2016-06-03 - Case Details
See, e.g., Microsoft Corporation v Momm Amed Ia, WIPO
Case No. D2001-1454, , or Sony Kabushiki Kaisha
(also trading as Sony Corporation) v. Inja, Kil, WIPO
Case No. D2000-1409. Other Panels have even addressed the addition of a
generic word to the WAL-MART mark. ...
2003-10-24 - Case Details
D2000-0493 finding identical to Complainant’s
mark because the generic top-level domain (gTLD) “.com” after the
name “Pomellato” is not relevant; see also Sony Kabushiki Kaisha
v. Inja, Kil, WIPO Case No. D2000-1409
finding that “[n]either the addition of an ordinary descriptive word . . . nor
the suffix ‘.com’ detract from the overall impression of the dominant
part of the name in each case, namely the trademark SONY” and thus Policy
paragraph 4(a)(i) was satisfied.
...
2005-05-17 - Case Details
This undisputed knowledge of the Complainant’s trademarks
is confirmed by the addition of the word “cigarette” in the disputed
domain name and by the association with a website devoted to smoking and to
the sales of cigarettes. (see Sony Kabushifi Kaisha also trading as Sony
Corporation v. Sin, Eonmok, WIPO Case
No. D2000-1007).
- The Registrant has not alleged any facts or elements to justify prior rights or legitimate interests in the said domain name...
2005-05-12 - Case Details