Treaties and Contracting Parties

Contracting Parties  >   Paris Convention > Australia  

AccessionJuly 30, 1925
Entry into forceOctober 10, 1925


Article(s) Signature Instrument Entry into Force
Stockholm Act (1967)1 - 12 Accession: June 26, 1975September 27, 1975
Stockholm Act (1967)13 - 30 Accession: May 10, 1972August 25, 1972
London Act (1934) June 2, 1934Accession: March 25, 1958June 2, 1958
The Hague Act (1925) November 6, 1925Accession: December 29, 1932February 12, 1933
Washington Act (1911)  Accession: July 30, 1925October 10, 1925

Declarations, reservations etc.

Stockholm Act (1967): A notification was deposited by the Government of the Commonwealth of Australia in which that Government indicated its desire to avail itself of the provisions of Article 30(2) of the Stockholm Act of the Paris Convention. That notification entered into force on the date of its receipt, that is, on September 21, 1971. Pursuant to the said Article, the Commonwealth of Australia, which was a member of the Paris Union, could, for five years from April 26, 1970, the date of entry into force of the Convention Establishing the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), exercise the rights provided under Articles 13 to 17 of the Stockholm Act of the Paris Convention, as if it were bound by those Articles. (see Paris Notification No. 33)

Territorial information

Application of the London Act (1934) to the Territory of Papua, the Trust territory of New Guinea and the Territory of Norfolk Island: January 5, 1960; Entry into force: February 5, 1960. (see La Propriété Industrielle 1960, No.2, p.21-22)

Accession to the Hague Act (1925) for the Territory of Norfolk Island and the Mandate territory of Nauru: June 18, 1936; Entry into force: July 29, 1936. (see La Propriété Industrielle 1936, No.7, p.109)

Accession to the Hague Act (1925) included the Territory of Papua and the Mandate territory of New Guinea. (see La Propriété Industrielle 1933, No.1, p.3)

Accession to the Washington Act (1911) for the Territory of Papua and the Mandate territory of New Guinea: February 25, 1926; Entry into force: April 13, 1926. (see La Propriété Industrielle 1926, No.3, p.49)