Treaties and Contracting Parties

Contracting Parties  >   Madrid Agreement (Marks) > France  

SignatureApril 14, 1891
RatificationJune 15, 1892
Entry into forceJuly 15, 1892

Territorial information

Including all Overseas Departments and Territories.


Article(s) Signature Instrument Entry into Force
Stockholm Act (1967) July 14, 1967Ratification: May 2, 1975August 12, 1975
Nice Act (1957) June 15, 1957Ratification: November 9, 1959December 15, 1966
London Act (1934) June 2, 1934Accession: May 15, 1939June 25, 1939
The Hague Act (1925) November 6, 1925Accession: September 9, 1930October 20, 1930
Washington Act (1911) June 2, 1911Ratification: April 1, 1913May 1, 1913
Brussels Act (1900) December 14, 1900Ratification: December 14, 1901September 14, 1902

Declarations, reservations etc.

Stockholm Act (1967): Pursuant to Article 3bis of the said Act, the Government of France declared that the protection resulting from the international registration shall extend to France only at the express request of the proprietor of the mark. Date of effect: August 12, 1975. (see Madrid (Marks) Notification No. 26)

Stockholm Act (1967): A notification was deposited by the Government of the French Republic in which that Government indicated its desire to avail itself of the provisions of Article 18(2) of the Madrid (Marks) Agreement. That notification entered into force on the date of its receipt, that is, on May 20, 1970. Pursuant to the said Article, the French Republic, which was a member of the Madrid Special Union, could, for five years from April 26, 1970, date of entry into force of the Convention Establishing the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), exercise the rights provided under Article 10 to 13 of the Stockholm Act of the Madrid (Marks) Agreement, as if it were bound by those Articles. (see Madrid (Marks) Notification No. 7)

Territorial information

Ratification of the Stockholm Act (1967) also applied to the department of Guyane, Guadeloupe, Martinique and Reunion, and to the overseas territories of New Caledonia, French Polynesia, St. Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna Island and the French Southern and Antarctic Territories. (see Madrid (Marks) Notification No. 26)

Accession to the London Act (1934) included Algeria and colonies. (see La Propriété Industrielle 1940, No.1, p.2)

Accession to the Hague Act (1925) included Algeria and colonies. (see La Propriété Industrielle 1930, No.9, p.193)

Ratification of the Washington Act (1911) included Algeria and colonies. (see La Propriété Industrielle 1914, No.1, p.1)

Ratification of the Brussels Act (1900) included Algeria and colonies. (see La Propriété Industrielle 1902, No.8, p.123)