Treaties and Contracting Parties

Contracting Parties  >   Berne Convention > Turkey  

AccessionOctober 27, 1951
Entry into forceJanuary 1, 1952


Article(s) Signature Instrument Entry into Force
Paris Act (1971)  Accession: October 1, 1995January 1, 1996
Stockholm Act (1967)    
Brussels Act (1948)  Accession: October 27, 1951January 1, 1952
Berne Additional Protocol (1914)  Accession: June 20, 1931June 20, 1931
Berlin Act (1908)  Accession: June 20, 1931June 20, 1931

Declarations, reservations etc.

Paris Act (1971): With the declaration provided for in Article 33(2) relating to the International Court of Justice. (see Berne Notification No. 230)

Stockholm Act (1967): A notification was deposited by the Government of the Republic of Turkey in which that Government indicated its desire to avail itself of the provisions of Article 38(2) of the Stockholm Act of the Berne Convention. This notification entered into force on the date of its receipt, that is, on September 17, 1970. Pursuant to the provisions of the said Article, the Republic of Turkey, which was a member of the Berne Union, could, for five years from April 26, 1970, the date of entry into force of the Convention Establishing the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), exercise the rights provided under Articles 22 to 26 of the Stockholm Act of the Berne Convention, as if it were bound by those Articles. (see Berne Notification No. 27)

Accession to the Brussels Act (1948) subject to the following reservation: Article 8 of the Act is replaced by Article 5 of the Berne Convention, 1886, as modified by Article 1, Number III, of the Paris Additional Act, 1896, with respect to the translations into the Turkish language. (see Le Droit d'auteur 1951, No.12, p.133)

Accession to the Berlin Act (1908) and the Berne Additional Protocol (1914) "subject to the conditions and reservations stipulated in Article 14 of the Commercial Convention signed at Lausanne on July 24, 1923".
This Commercial Convention provided for the accession of Turkey to the Berne Convention and to the Additional Protocol of 1914, subject to "such reservation as Turkey might formulate concerning the provisions of the aforementioned Convention and Protocol, with reference to the right of translation in the Turkish language, if the other signatory Powers of the Convention and Protocol have not themselves opposed the said reservation in the course of the year following the entry into force" of the Convention of Lausanne.
This treaty was signed by Turkey on the one hand, and by France, Great Britain, Greece, Italy, Japan, Romania and Yugoslavia on the other. None of these countries opposed the Turkish reservation.
In opposition to the reservation were Austria, Belgium, Czechoslovakia, Danzig, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland, and these countries did not consider themselves bound to Turkey. (see Le Droit d'auteur 1931, No.7, p.74)