Singapore Notification No. 2
Singapore Treaty on the Law of Trademarks


The Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) presents his compliments to the Minister for Foreign Affairs and has the honor to notify him that, by the date until which it was open for signature (that is, March 27, 2007), the following States had signed the Singapore Treaty on the Law of Trademarks (the Singapore Treaty), adopted at Singapore on March 27, 2006:

  • Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Estonia, France, Ghana, Guinea, Haiti, Italy, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Madagascar, Mexico, Moldova, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Romania, Senegal, Spain, Switzerland, Tajikistan, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Togo, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, on March 28, 2006;
  • Australia, on March 26, 2007; Cameroon, on February 27, 2007; China, on January 29, 2007; Finland, on October 3, 2006; Hungary, on September 26, 2006; Iceland, on January 31, 2007; Lebanon, on December 5, 2006; Luxembourg, on March 29, 2006; Mali, on July 26, 2006; Mauritania, on January 31, 2007; New Zealand, on September 26, 2006; Russian Federation, on March 26, 2007; Singapore, on May 18, 2006.

(Total: 54 signatories)

The said Treaty was also ratified, on March 26, 2007, by the Government of the Republic of Singapore.

Any of the above-listed signatories may become a party to the Singapore Treaty by depositing an instrument of ratification. Any State and any intergovernmental organization fulfilling the conditions stated in Article 26(1) of the Singapore Treaty and not having signed the said Treaty may become a party to it by depositing an instrument of accession.

Instruments of ratification or accession must be deposited with the Director General of WIPO. The Singapore Treaty shall enter into force three months after such instruments have been deposited by ten States or intergovernmental organizations with the Director General of WIPO.

April 10, 2007