PCT Notification No. 17
Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT)

Applicability of Chapter II

The Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) presents his compliments to the Minister for Foreign Affairs and has the honor to notify him that the provisions of Chapter II of the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) done at Washington on June 19, 1970, and the corresponding provisions of the Regulations annexed to the said Treaty will become applicable on

March 29, 1978,

with respect to the following 12 States: Central African Empire, Democratic Republic of Madagascar, Gabonese Republic, Germany (Federal Republic of), People's Republic of the Congo, Republic of Chad, Republic of Malawi, Republic of Senegal, Togolese Republic, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United Republic of Cameroon.

Three of the said 12 States - the Federal Republic of Germany, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland - each meets one or more of the requirements specified in Article 63(1)(a) of the said Treaty, and none of them has declared that it did not intend to be bound by the provisions of Chapter II of the said Treaty; thus, the conditions for the applicability of the provisions of the said Chapter, set out in Article 63(3) of the said Treaty, have been fulfilled.

It is to be noted that, in accordance with the declarations made by them, three of the 15 States which have so far deposited their instruments of ratification of or accession to the said Treaty - namely, the French Republic, the Swiss Confederation and the United States of America - are not bound by the provisions of the said Chapter II.

January 6, 1978