Diplomatic Conference Closes With Signature of New Treaty

Geneva, July 6, 1999
Press Releases PR/1999/180

Twenty three countries signed on Tuesday a landmark agreement that will enhance the existing system for the international registration of industrial designs. The Geneva Act of the Hague Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Industrial Designs was adopted by consensus on Friday, July 2, 1999, at the final plenary session of a three-week Diplomatic Conference held under the auspices of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

The Geneva Act, which seeks to broaden the geographical scope of industrial design protection, was open for signature on July 6, 1999. The following countries signed the Geneva Act at a ceremony at WIPO headquarters in Geneva: Algeria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Chad, Croatia, Cuba, Denmark, Estonia, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Netherlands, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America.

A total of 42 countries and the European Community signed the Final Act, a document that bears witness to the Diplomatic Conference, its outcome, and acknowledges the participation of the delegations at the meeting.

The Geneva Act is open for signature by WIPO member states until July 2, 2000. Signature entitles a government to ratify the Act at any time it chooses. WIPO member states that do not sign the Geneva Act within the one-year period are entitled to accede to the Act at any time. The Geneva Act will enter into force after six countries deposit their instruments of ratification or accession with the Director General of WIPO.

For further information, please contact the Media Relations and Public Affairs Section at WIPO:

Tel: (+41 22) 338 8161 or 338 95 47
Fax: (+41 22) 338 88 10
E-mail: publicinf@wipo.int

Related Press Releases: PR/99/175, PR/99/177 and PR/99/179