19. Trademark Law Treaty

(Geneva, 1994)

Status on August 1, 2023

State	Date on which State became party to the Treaty	State	Date on which State became party to the Treaty
Australia	January 21, 1998	Latvia	December 28, 1999
Bahrain	March 18, 2007	Liechtenstein	March 17, 1998
Belgium	August 11, 2012	Lithuania	April 27, 1998
Bosnia and Herzegovina	December 22, 2006	Luxembourg	August 11, 2012
Burkina Faso	Not yet in force ¹	Monaco	September 27, 1996
Chile	August 5, 2011	Montenegro	June 3, 2006
Colombia	April 13, 2012	Morocco	July 6, 2009
Costa Rica	October 17, 2008	Netherlands (Kingdom of the) ⁴	August 11, 2012 ⁵
Croatia	July 4, 2006	Nicaragua	September 22, 2009
Cyprus	April 17, 1997	Oman	October 16, 2007
Czech Republic	August 1, 1996	Panama	September 7, 2012
Denmark	January 28, 1998 ²	Peru	November 6, 2009
Dominican Republic	December 13, 2011	Republic of Korea	February 25, 2003
Egypt	October 7, 1999	Republic of Moldova	August 1, 1996
El Salvador	November 14, 2008	Romania	July 28, 1998
Estonia	January 7, 2003	Russian Federation	May 11, 1998
France	December 15, 2006	Serbia ⁶	September 15, 1998
Germany	October 16, 2004	Slovakia	July 9, 1997
Guatemala	December 12, 2016	Slovenia	May 26, 2002
Guinea	Not yet in force ¹	Spain ⁷	March 17, 1999
Honduras	April 22, 2008	Sri Lanka ⁸	August 1, 1996
Hungary	November 26, 1998	Switzerland	May 1, 1997
Indonesia	September 5, 1997	Trinidad and Tobago	April 16, 1998
Ireland	October 13, 1999	Türkiye	January 1, 2005
Italy	April 26, 2011	Ukraine	August 1, 1996
Japan ³	April 1, 1997	United Kingdom ^{9, 10}	August 1, 1996
kazakhstan	November 7, 2002	United States of America	August 12, 2000
Kyrgyzstan	August 15, 2002	Uzbekistan	September 4, 1998

(Total: 54 States)

⁴ Ratification for the Kingdom in Europe, the Netherlands Antilles and Aruba. The Netherlands Antilles ceased to exist on October 10, 2010. As from that date, the Treaty continues to apply to Curaçao and Sint Maarten. The Treaty also continues to apply to the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba which, with effect from October 10, 2010, have become part of the territory of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Europe.

⁵ The Netherlands Antilles and Aruba became bound by the Treaty as from December 19, 1996 and the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Europe, on August 11, 2012, three months after the deposit of the instrument of ratification of Luxembourg.

⁷ With the reservation provided for in Article 21(1), in respect of derivative marks, and the declarations in Article 22(1)(a) and (c), (2) and (5).

¹ This State will become bound by the Treaty three months after the deposit of the instrument of accession of the African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI).

² Not applicable to the Faroe Islands and to Greenland.

³ With the reservation provided for in Article 21(1), in respect of defensive marks, and the declaration in Article 22(6).

⁶ Serbia is the continuing State from Serbia and Montenegro as from June 3, 2006.

 $^{^{8}}$ With the declarations provided for in Article 22(1)(a) and (c), (2) and (4).

⁹ In respect of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the Isle of Man.

¹⁰ The United Kingdom extended the application of the Treaty to the territory of Gibraltar with effect from January 1, 2021.