Advisory Board

Since 2011, the Advisory Board has played a valued role in advising on the strategic direction of the Global Innovation Index (GII). Its mission is to emphasize the critical role innovation plays in economic and social development and to assist in the dissemination of GII findings relevant to each of the world's economies and regions. Comprising international policymakers, thought-leaders and corporate executives, Advisory Board members are selected from diverse geographical and institutional backgrounds and serve in a personal capacity. We express our appreciation to all Advisory Board members for their continued support and collaboration.

Advisory Board members

Clare Akamanzi

Chief Executive Officer, Rwanda Development Board, Rwanda

Robert D. Atkinson

President, Information Technology and Innovation Foundation (ITIF), United States

Audrey Azoulay

Director-General, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Doreen Bogdan-Martin

Secretary-General, International Telecommunication Union (ITU)

Amy L. Burke

Program Director, Science, Technology, and Innovation Analysis, National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES), National Science Foundation (NSF), United States

María Fernanda Garza

Chair, International Chamber of Commerce (ICC), Mexico

Fabiola Gianotti

Director-General, European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN)

John Kao

Chair, Institute for Large Scale Innovation, and former Harvard Business School Professor, United States

Victor Zhixiang Liang

Senior Vice President, Baidu, China

Raghunath Anant Mashelkar

President, Global Research Alliance; National Research Professor, National Chemical Laboratory; former Director-General, Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR), and former Chair, National Innovation Foundation, India

Philippe Kuhutama Mawoko

Professor, Université du Kwango, Democratic Republic of the Congo, and former Executive Secretary, African Observatory for Science, Technology and Innovation (AOSTI), African Union Commission

Ken Moore

Chief Innovation Officer, Mastercard

Sergio Mujica

Secretary-General, International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

Monika Schnitzer

Member, German Council of Economic Experts, and Professor, Ludwig-Maximilians-University (LMU) Munich, Germany

Heizo Takenaka

Professor Emeritus, Keio University, Japan; former Minister of State for Economic and Fiscal Policy, and Member of the World Economic Forum Board of Trustees

Blanca Treviño

President, Softtek, Mexico

Pedro Wongtschowski

Coordinator, Brazilian Entrepreneurial Movement for Innovation (MEI), Brazilian National Confederation of Industry (CNI), Brazil