

WORLD INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY ORGANIZATION

34, chemin des Colombettes, P.O. Box 18, CH-1211 Geneva 20 (Switzerland) ‡ (41-22) 338 91 11 – Facsimile (International Trademark Registry): (41-22) 740 14 29 e-mail: intreg.mail@wipo.int – Internet: http://www.wipo.int

PROTOCOL RELATING TO THE MADRID AGREEMENT CONCERNING THE INTERNATIONAL REGISTRATION OF MARKS

Accession by Australia

1. On April 11, 2001, the Government of Australia deposited with the Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) its instrument of accession to the Protocol Relating to the Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks. The Madrid Protocol will enter into force with respect to Australia on July 11, 2001.

2. The said instrument of accession was accompanied by the following declarations:

- the declaration that, pursuant to Article 5(2)(b) of the said Protocol, the time limit of one year to exercise the right to notify a refusal of protection referred to in Article 5(2)(a)thereof is replaced by 18 months and that, under Article 5(2)(c) of the said Protocol, where refusal of protection may result from an opposition to the granting of protection, such refusal may be notified after the expiry of the 18-month time limit;

- the declaration that, in accordance with Article 8(7)(a) of the Madrid Protocol, the Government of Australia wants to receive, in connection with each international registration in which it is mentioned under Article *3ter* of the said Protocol, and in connection with the renewal of any such international registration, instead of a share in the revenue produced by the supplementary and complementary fees, an individual fee.

3. The amounts in Swiss francs of the said individual fees will be published as soon as they have been established in accordance with Rule 35(2)(b) of the Common Regulations under the Madrid Agreement and Protocol.

4. Accession to the Madrid Protocol by Australia brings the number of Contracting Parties of the Protocol to 51, namely, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bhutan, China, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom and Yugoslavia.

5. A list of the members of the Madrid Union and information on the dates on which these States became party to the Madrid Agreement or the Protocol, as well as on declarations made under these two treaties, are available under the heading "List of Members" on the International Marks page on WIPO's website, at the following address: *www.wipo.int*.