

WORLD INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY ORGANIZATION

34, chemin des Colombettes, P.O. Box 18, CH-1211 Geneva 20 (Switzerland)

‡ (41-22) 338 91 11 – Facsimile (International Trademark Registry): (41-22) 740 14 29
e-mail: intreg.mail@wipo.int – Internet: http://www.wipo.int

PROTOCOL RELATING TO THE MADRID AGREEMENT CONCERNING THE INTERNATIONAL REGISTRATION OF MARKS

Ratification by Greece

- 1. On May 10, 2000, Greece deposited with the Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) its instrument of ratification of the Protocol Relating to the Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks. The Madrid Protocol will enter into force with respect to Greece on August 10, 2000.
- 2. The said instrument of accession was accompanied by the following declarations:
- the declaration that, pursuant to Article 5(2)(b) of the said Protocol, the time limit of one year to exercise the right to notify a refusal of protection referred to in Article 5(2)(a) is replaced by 18 months;
- the declaration that, in accordance with Article 8(7)(a) of the Madrid Protocol, in connection with each international registration in which Greece is mentioned under Article 3ter of the said Protocol, and in connection with the renewal of any such international registration, it wants to receive, instead of a share in the revenue produced by the supplementary and complementary fees, an individual fee. The amounts in Swiss francs of the said individual fees will be published as soon as they have been established in accordance with Rule 35(2)(b) of the Common Regulations under the Madrid Agreement and Protocol.
- 3. Ratification of the Madrid Protocol by Greece will bring the number of the Contracting Parties of the Protocol to 46, namely, Austria, Antigua and Barbuda, Belgium, Bhutan, China, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom and Yugoslavia.
- 4. A list of all the members of the Madrid Union and information on the dates on which these States became party to the Madrid Agreement and the Protocol as well as declarations made under these two treaties is available under the heading "status of ratifications" on the Madrid System page on WIPO's website at the following address: http://www.wipo.int/eng/main.htm.