

WORLD INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY ORGANIZATION

34, chemin des Colombettes, P.O. Box 18, CH-1211 Geneva 20 (Switzerland) ‡ (41-22) 338 91 11 – Facsimile (International Trademark Registry): (41-22) 740 14 29 e-mail: intreg.mail@wipo.int – Internet: http://www.wipo.int

PROTOCOL RELATING TO THE MADRID AGREEMENT CONCERNING THE INTERNATIONAL REGISTRATION OF MARKS

Accession by Japan

1. On December 14, 1999, the Government of Japan deposited with the Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) its instrument of accession to the Protocol Relating to the Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks. The Madrid Protocol will enter into force, with respect to Japan, on March 14, 2000.

2. The said instrument of accession was accompanied by the following declarations:

- the declaration that, pursuant to Article 5(2)(b) of the Madrid Protocol, the time limit of one year to exercise the right to notify a refusal of protection referred to in Article 5(2)(a) is replaced by 18 months;

- the declaration that, in accordance with Article 8(7)(a) of the Madrid Protocol, the Government of Japan wants to receive, in connection with each international registration in which it is mentioned under Article *3ter* of the said Protocol, and in connection with the renewal of any such international registration, instead of a share in the revenue produced by the supplementary and complementary fees, an individual fee.

3. The amounts in Swiss francs of the said individual fees will be published as soon as they have been established in accordance with Rule 35(2)(b) of the Common Regulations under the Madrid Agreement and Protocol.

4. Accession by Japan to the Madrid Protocol brings the number of the Contracting Parties of the Protocol to 42, namely, Austria, Belgium, China, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Kenya, Japan, Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Sierra Leone, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom and Yugoslavia.

January 7, 2000