Locarno Classification

The Locarno Classification, established by the Locarno Agreement (1968), is an international classification used for the purposes of the registration of industrial designs.  The current edition of the Classification is published online. Find out more about the Locarno Classification.



Assembly of the Locarno Union

All States that are party to the Locarno Agreement are members of the Locarno Union Assembly. The Assembly meets in ordinary session once every two years. The Assembly deals with all matters concerning the maintenance and development of the Union and the implementation of the Locarno Agreement.

Committee of Experts of the Locarno Union

Each State party to the Locarno Agreement is represented in the Committee of Experts set up by the Agreement. The Committee holds its sessions at least once every five years. The Committee decides on any changes to be incorporated in the Locarno Classification, which are subsequently published in the form of new editions of the Classification. The Committee also addresses recommendations to the members of the Union for the purpose of facilitating the use of the Classification and promoting its uniform application.

Discontinued meetings


Download and IT support

All master files used to generate the online version of the Locarno Classification (and other files in Excel, Word and PDF format) are freely available for download.

Quick access

  • LOC 11: files and data
  • LOC 12: files and data
  • LOC 13: files and data 
  • LOC 14: files and data (entry into force on 1 January 2023)

Industrial design-related databases

Other international classifications

  • Vienna (figurative elements of marks)
  • Nice (trademarks)
  • IPC (patents)