Other IP Treaties

Contracting Parties  >   Agreement on the Importation of Educational, Scientific and Cultural Materials > United Kingdom 

SignatureNovember 22, 1950
RatificationMarch 11, 1954
Entry into forceJune 11, 1954

Territorial Information

On June 10, 1997, the Secretary-General received communications concerning the status of Hong Kong from the Governments of the United Kingdom and China:
"In accordance with the Joint Declaration of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the Government of the People's Republic of China on the Question of Hong Kong signed on 19 December 1984, the Government of the United Kingdom will restore Hong Kong to the People's Republic of China with effect from 1 July 1997. The Government of the United Kingdom will continue to have international responsibility for Hong Kong until that date. Therefore, from that date the Government of the United Kingdom will cease to be responsible for the international rights and obligations arising from the application of [Conventions] to Hong Kong."

Notification of extension to Bahamas: March 14, 1960.

Notification of extension to Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland: March 22, 1956.

Notification of extension to Channel Islands and Isle of Man: May 18, 1955.

Notification of extension to Cyprus, Falkland Islands (Colony and Dependencies) (Malvinas), North Borneo (including Labuan), Tonga (Protected State), Windward Islands (Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Vincent): September 16, 1954.

Notification of extension to British Solomon Islands, Central and Southern Line Islands, Christmas Island and the Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Federation of Malaya, Gilbert and Ellice Islands, Malta, Mauritius, Nigeria Colony, Nigeria Protectorate, St. Helena, St. Helena and Dependencies, Sarawak, Seychelles, Sierra Leone Colony, Sierra Leone Protectorate, Singapore, Somalian Protectorate, Tanganyika, Territory of the Cameroons under British Administration, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda Protectorate, Western Pacific High Commission and Zanzibar Protectorate: March 11, 1954.

Notification of extension to Antigua, Barbados, British Guiana, British Honduras, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cayman Islands, Colony of Aden, Fiji, Gambia Colony, Gambia Protectorate, Gibraltar, Gold Coast Colony, Gold Coast Northern Territory, Hong Kong, Jamaica, Kenya Colony, Kenya Protectorate, Leeward Islands, Montserrat, St. Christopher and Nevis, Territory of Togoland under British Administration and Turks and Caicos Islands: March 11, 1954.