The Comorian Constitution

Year of Version:2001
Date of Text (Adopted):December 23, 2001
Type of Text:Constitution / Basic Law
Subject Matter:Other
The current Constitution of Comoros has been adopted by referendum on December 23, 2001. It was renamed the Islamic Federal Republic of Comoros (RFIC) in the Union of Comoros, a republic consisting of the autonomous islands of Mwali (Moheli), N'Dzuwani (Anjouan), N'Gazidja (Grande Comore) and Maori (Mayotte).

The executive power is exercised by the government. The federal legislative power is vested in both the government and parliament. Each of the islands (according to Title II of the Constitution) has a great amount of autonomy in the Union, including having their own constitutions (or Fundamental Law), president, and Parliament. The Comorian legal system rests on Islamic law, an inherited French legal code Napoleonic code), and customary law (mila na ntsi).

The Constitution do not contain provisions concerning the protection of intellectual property rights; however, the preamble recognizes the right to private property.
Available Texts: 

La Constitution comorienne La Constitution comorienne, Complete document (pdf) [258 KB] La Constitution comorienne, Complete document (htm) [42 KB] (Version with Automatic Translation Tool)

WIPO Lex No.:KM001