Treaties and Contracting Parties

Contracting Parties  >   Paris Convention > France 

SignatureMarch 20, 1883
RatificationJune 6, 1884
Entry into forceJuly 7, 1884

Territorial information

Including all Overseas Departments and Territories.

Ratification of the Paris Convention (1883) included Algeria and colonies.


Article(s) Signature Instrument Entry into Force
Stockholm Act (1967) July 14, 1967Ratification: May 2, 1975August 12, 1975
Lisbon Act (1958) October 31, 1958Ratification: March 22, 1961January 4, 1962
London Act (1934) June 2, 1934Accession: May 15, 1939June 25, 1939
The Hague Act (1925) November 6, 1925Accession: September 9, 1930October 20, 1930
Washington Act (1911) June 2, 1911Ratification: April 1, 1913May 1, 1913
Brussels Act (1900) December 14, 1900Ratification: May 23, 1902September 14, 1902

Declarations, reservations etc.

Stockholm Act (1967): A notification was deposited by the Government of the French Republic in which that Government indicated its desire to avail itself of the provisions of Article 30(2) of the Stockholm Act of the Paris Convention. That notification entered into force on the date of its receipt, that is, on May 20, 1970. Pursuant to the said Article, the French Republic, which was a member of the Paris Union, could, for five years from April 26, 1970, the date of entry into force of the Convention Establishing the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), exercise the rights provided under Articles 13 to 17 of the Stockholm Act of the Paris Convention, as if it were bound by those Articles. (see Paris Notification No. 21)

Territorial information

Ratification of the Stockholm Act (1967) was accompanied by the following declaration: "The Government of the French Republic, referring to Article 24, paragraph (1), of the Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property, declares that the said Convention shall be applicable to the territory of the French Republic in Europe, to the departments of Guyane, Guadeloupe, Martinique and Reunion, and to the overseas territories of New Caledonia, French Polynesia, St. Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna Islands and the French Southern and Antarctic Territories." (Translation) (see Paris Notification No. 70)

Ratification of the Lisbon Act (1958) included the departments of Guadeloupe, Guyana, Martinique, Réunion, the overseas territories and Algerian and Saharan departments.

Accession to the London Act (1934) included Algeria and colonies.

Accession to the Hague Act (1925) included Algeria and colonies.

Ratification of the Washington Act (1911) included Algeria and colonies.

Ratification of the Brussels Act (1900) included Algeria and colonies.