Treaties and Contracting Parties

Contracting Parties  >   UPOV Convention > France 

SignatureDecember 2, 1961
RatificationSeptember 3, 1971
Entry into forceOctober 3, 1971

Declarations, reservations etc.

Ratification of the Convention (1961) was accompanied by a declaration that in accordance with Article 33 of the Convention, the French Government would apply the Convention to the following genera and species included in the Annex to the Convention: wheat, barley, oats, rice, maize, potatoes, peas, beans, lettuce, roses, carnations. The Convention would also be applied to a number of genera and species not included in the Annex to the Convention. With respect to these, France would limit the benefit of protection to nationals of Member States which protect the same genera and species, as well as to physical persons and corporate bodies having their domicile or establishment in one of these States.

Territorial information

Ratification of the Convention (1961) applied to the territory of the French Republic in Europe, to the Departments of Guadeloupe, Guyane, Martinique and Reunion, to the Overseas Territories of French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Wallis and Futuna Islands and the French Southern and Antarctic Territories.


Article(s) Signature Instrument Entry into Force
1991 Act March 19, 1991Ratification: April 27, 2012May 27, 2012
1978 Act October 23, 1978Ratification: February 17, 1983March 17, 1983
Additional Act November 10, 1972Ratification: January 22, 1975February 11, 1977

Declarations, reservations etc.

With a declaration that the 1978 Act applies to the territory of the French Republic, including the Overseas Departments and Territories.

1978 Act: A notification dated November 6, 1981, was made to the effect that, as provided for in Article 34(2) of the 1978 Act, from December 6, 1981, until the entry into force of the 1978 Act with respect to the French Republic, the latter would apply the Convention of 1961 as amended by the Additional Act of 1972 in its relations with Ireland, New Zealand and the United States of America, whereas the said States would apply the 1978 Act in their relations with the French Republic.