Treaties and Contracting Parties

Contracting Parties  >   Madrid Agreement (Marks) > Portugal  

SignatureApril 14, 1891
RatificationOctober 31, 1893
Entry into forceOctober 31, 1893


Article(s) Signature Instrument Entry into Force
Stockholm Act (1967) July 14, 1967Ratification: August 22, 1988November 22, 1988
Nice Act (1957) June 15, 1957Ratification: April 2, 1959December 15, 1966
London Act (1934) June 2, 1934Accession: October 7, 1949November 7, 1949
The Hague Act (1925) November 6, 1925Accession: March 26, 1931May 13, 1931
Washington Act (1911) June 2, 1911Ratification: April 1, 1913May 1, 1913
Brussels Act (1900) December 14, 1900Ratification: November 5, 1901September 14, 1902

Declarations, reservations etc.

Stockholm Act (1967): A notification was deposited by the Government of the Portuguese Republic in which that Government indicated its desire to avail itself of the provisions of Article 18(2) of the Madrid (Marks) Agreement. That notification entered into force on the date of its receipt, that is, on August 25, 1970. Pursuant to the said Article, the Portuguese Republic, which was a member of the Madrid Special Union, could, for five years from April 26, 1970, date of entry into force of the Convention Establishing the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), exercise the rights provided under Article 10 to 13 of the Stockholm Act of the Madrid (Marks) Agreement, as if it were bound by those Articles. (see Madrid (Marks) Notification No. 11)

Nice Act (1957): Pursuant to Article 3bis of the said Act, the Government of Portugal declared that the protection resulting from the international registration shall extend to Portugal only at the express request of the proprietor of the mark. Date of effect: December 15, 1966.

Territorial information

Accession to the London Act (1934) included the Azores and Madeira.

Accession to the Hague Act (1925) included the Azores and Madeira.

Ratification of the Washington Act (1911) included the Azores and Madeira.

Ratification of the Brussels Act (1900) included the Azores and Madeira.