World Intellectual Property Organization

Declarations Made by Contracting Parties under the 1999 Act and the Common Regulations under the 1999 Act and the 1960 Act

Last updated: July 2014


(a) Article 4(1)(b) of the 1999 Act (prohibition of filing through the Office)

  • African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI), Croatia, European Union, France, Latvia, Monaco, Montenegro, Slovenia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Ukraine

(b) Article 5(2)(b)(i) of the 1999 Act (identity of the creator as additional mandatory content)

  • Romania

(c) Article 5(2)(b)(ii) of the 1999 Act (brief description as additional mandatory content)

  • Romania, Syrian Arab Republic

(d) Article 5(2)(b)(iii) of the 1999 Act (claim as additional mandatory content)

  • None

(e) Article 7(2) of the 1999 Act (individual fee in respect of a designation made under the 1999 Act and in respect of a renewal requested under the 1999 Act)

  • African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI), European Union, Hungary, Kyrgyzstan, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova

(f) Rule 36(1) (individual fee in respect of a designation made under the 1960 Act)

  • Hungary, Kyrgyzstan, Republic of Moldova

(g) Rule 12(3) (individual designation fee payable in two parts)

  • None

(h) Article 11(1)(a) of the 1999 Act (deferred publication for a period which is less than 30 months)

  • African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI) (12 months), Brunei Darussalam (12 months), Croatia (12 months), Denmark (6 months), Estonia (12 months), Finland (6 months), Norway (6 months), Slovenia (12 months), Syrian Arab Republic (12 months)

(i) Article 11(1)(b) of the 1999 Act (no deferment of publication)

  • Hungary, Iceland, Monaco, Poland, Singapore, Ukraine

(j) Article 13(1) of the 1999 Act (requirement of unity of design)

  • Estonia, Kyrgyzstan, Romania, Singapore, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan

(k) Article 14(3)(a) of the 1999 Act (prohibition of self-designation)

  • None

(l) Article 16(2) of the 1999 Act (no effect of change in ownership until specified statements or documents are received by the Office)

  • African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI), Denmark, Republic of Korea

(m) Article 19(1) of the 1999 Act and/or Article 30(1) of the 1960 Act (common Office of several States)

  • Belgium, Luxembourg, Netherlands

(n) Rule 8(1) (special requirements concerning the applicant)

  • Finland, Ghana, Hungary, Iceland

(o) Rule 9(3)(a) (certain views of the design required)

  • Republic of Korea

(p) Rule 12(1)(c)(i) (level of standard designation fee – levels two and three)

  • Level two: Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Latvia, Morocco, Norway, Poland, Switzerland, Tunisia, Ukraine
  • Level three: Brunei Darussalam, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Finland, Georgia, Ghana, Iceland, Lithuania, Republic of Korea, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan

(q) Rule 13(4) (security clearance)

  • None

(r) Rule 18(1)(b) (extension to 12 months of the refusal period)

  • Finland, Iceland, Kyrgyzstan, Lithuania, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey

(s) Rule 18(1)(c)(i) (date of effect of the international registration)

  • Spain, Turkey

(t) Rule 18(1)(c)(ii) (date of effect of the international registration)

  • Republic of Korea

(u) Article 17(3)(c) of the 1999 Act and Rule 36(2) (maximum duration of protection for industrial designs provided by the law of Contracting Parties to the 1999 Act and/or the 1960 Act of the Hague Agreement)1

African Intellectual Property Organization 15 years
Albania 15 years
Armenia 15 years
Azerbaijan 15 years
Belize 15 years
Benelux 25 years
Benin 15 years
Bosnia and Herzegovina 25 years
Botswana 15 years
Brunei Darussalam 15 years
Bulgaria 25 years
Côte d’Ivoire 15 years
Croatia 25 years
Denmark 25 years
(except: spare parts, 15 years)
Egypt 15 years
Estonia 25 years
European Union 25 years
Finland 25 years (except: spare parts, 15 years)
France 25 years
Gabon 15 years
Georgia 25 years
Germany 25 years
Ghana 15 years
Greece 25 years
Hungary 25 years
Iceland 25 years
Italy 25 years
Korea (Democratic People’s Republic of) 15 years
Kyrgyzstan 15 years
Latvia 25 years
Liechtenstein 25 years
Lithuania 25 years
Mali 15 years
Monaco 50 years
Montenegro 25 years
Morocco 50 years
Namibia 15 years
Niger 15 years
Norway 25 years
Oman 15 years
Poland 25 years
Republic of Korea 20 years
Republic of Moldova 25 years
Romania 25 years
Sao Tome and Principe 15 years
Senegal 15 years
Serbia 25 years
Singapore 15 years
Slovenia 25 years
Spain 25 years
Switzerland 25 years
Syrian Arab Republic 15 years
Tajikistan 15 years
The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia 25 years
Tunisia 15 years
Turkey 25 years
Ukraine 15 years
  1. The Contracting Parties not mentioned in this table have not yet communicated the information concerned to the International Bureau.

Explore WIPO