E



VIP/DC/11 ORIGINAL: ENGLISH DATE: JUNE 28, 2013

Diplomatic Conference to Conclude a Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works by Visually Impaired Persons and Persons with Print Disabilities

Marrakesh, June 17 to 28, 2013

FINAL ACT

adopted by the Diplomatic Conference on June 27, 2013

In accordance with the decision by the WIPO General Assembly taken at its fortieth (22nd Extraordinary) session in December 2012 to convene a Diplomatic Conference in June 2013, and following the preparations carried out by the Preparatory Committee of the said Conference and WIPO, as well as the Government of the Kingdom of Morocco, the Diplomatic Conference to Conclude a Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works by Visually Impaired Persons and Persons with Print Disabilities was convened by WIPO and held in Marrakesh from June 17 to 28, 2013.

The Diplomatic Conference adopted, on June 27, 2013, the Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons who are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled. The said Marrakesh Treaty was opened for signature on June 28, 2013.

It is understood, with respect to Article 21 of the Treaty, which provides that the signed original English, Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian and Spanish language versions are equally authentic, that such authenticity takes effect following the adoption of the Treaty upon certification by the Director General of WIPO, after consultation with the President of the Diplomatic Conference to conclude the Treaty, as to the conformity of the texts with one another.

IN WITNESS THEREOF, the undersigned, being duly authorized thereto, have signed the present Final Act in Marrakesh, on June 28, 2013:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chad, Central African Republic, Chili, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Germany, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Haiti, Holy See, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malawi, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, European Union (129).